two images of christ.

30 May

which jesus do you think more accurately reflects the one you follow?

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

which one does your neighbor think you follow?

3 Responses to “two images of christ.”

  1. Jerome Graber May 30, 2012 at 6:43 AM #

    I don’t get it.

    • the WayWard follower May 30, 2012 at 12:06 PM #

      saw something identical to the image on the right while at another church this past weekend – tried to recreate it and made the image on the left.

      when i saw the ‘original’ image again, it struck me that the image (on the right) seemed a little more gloomy than the one i had re-created from memory.

      thought to myself…i wonder what that means in terms of how i view christ, or how christ is viewed by others in me? how often do i myself show the image of christ as one who is open, accepting and inviting versus one who is a little more closed off and just…serious all the time.

      what do you think?

      • Jerome Graber May 31, 2012 at 6:47 AM #

        oh, I get it now! I was focusing on how the 2’nd one didn’t seem to have eyes or a mouth, but couldn’t figure out what it was supposed to symbolize.

        but gloomy . . . Hmmm. Well, following Jesus is serious business, but it is supposed to bring joy and peace even in hard times, right? That is the exact opposite of gloominess. Gloomy Christians, it seems to me, could use a fresh dose of the Spirit.

Comments are closed.

