LoveWell

9 Apr

‘a new command i give to you,’ said jesus. ‘that you love one another. the same way i have loved you – love each other that way.’

what does it look like to love…well?

to love your neighbor.

to love God.

to love your friends.

to love your enemies.

to love the church.

to love people from other faith traditions, or with no faith at all.

to love your family.

to love your spouse.

like jesus. with the same fierce, loyal, compassionate, unconditional, believe-the-best-in-and-for-you kind of love…

what does that look like?

4 Responses to “LoveWell”

  1. Carlynn Jurica April 9, 2012 at 1:28 PM #

    Honestly…

    I don’t actually know.

    I could give you all sorts of bible-y answers that I’ve rehearsed all my life. I could give you inspirational or romanticized speeches.

    But practically speaking, I’m not exactly sure, because love is so big and beyond me, and there really aren’t right words or simple answers. I guess I just go along doing my best to be humble and selfless and caring with people and with God… and failing miserably because I’m so proud and selfish and wounded… and trying again…

  2. Jim Fisher April 9, 2012 at 8:41 PM #

    This is going to be hard to not ramble on and not sound like boasting. You’ll have to add your own details. My Lenten discipline was to pray daily for ways I could show sacrificial love to my friends. For 40 days, one right after another, the requests poured in. I got Sundays off.

    I spent one weekend with a friend 100 miles away who was going to be the hospital for two days. Besides driving her to and from the hospital an hour away, I delivered her boys to her ex for the weekend because he wouldn’t drive half that far to pick them up. While she was in the hospital, I made a bunch of meals and froze them so she wouldn’t have to cook for a few days.

    My wife and I were asked at the last minute to help another friend move a couple trailer-fulls of stuff out of the house where she used to live with her physically abusive now-ex husband. We protected her from a constant barrage of insults as best we could, making sure she was never alone in a room with him, and then spent the evening with her in her new house giving her all the time she needed to allow the poisoned arrows to fall harmlessly onto her past … having already cancelled all our plans to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary that evening. It was the best anniversary ever as we loved a beautiful caged bird to freedom.

    One evening my cell phone rang with a “Hi, Jim. I don’t want you to worry. I’m not suicidal or anything, but …” when she really was. That was quite the evening which I can’t talk much about. What I can tell you is that she completely rebooted her soul … and all I did was show up and shut up. God did all the work in her that needed to be done. All I had to do is listen.

    Most of the other days were handyman requests and in each case, I left a gift thanking them for asking me to love them … with no expectation of anything in return, no ulterior motives, no hidden agendas.

    I am still working through how easily and effortlessly my prayers were answered. I think I am learning what Divine Love feels like as it flows through this old branch of the vine from God to my neighbors. It continues to fill me to overflowing with Joy … to the point of tears.

  3. Ryan Copeland April 13, 2012 at 10:07 AM #

    I think it starts with loving Jesus, If we allow ourselves to fall in love with Him, to abandon all in this life for His sake, I think we’ll be on the right path to loving others. I think of how hard and passionately I pursued my wife during our dating relationship. She brushed me off twice before realizing how great I was 🙂 but I never gave up even though I thought about it. Now I compare that to my relationship with Christ. He never brushes me off, Yet I’m not even close to being as passionate for Him. It is He who is pursuing me and I am the one who can’t make up my mind. If we were to really grasp the reality of how much He loves us, laying down his life to save ours, I think it would totally change our hearts. Then to realize that Jesus loves ALL men like that, and we would be eager to love all men as well. That is what I want. Thanks for making me think!

    • the WayWard follower April 13, 2012 at 9:38 PM #

      thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, ryan! looking forward to hearing more of how you ‘grasp the reality of how much he loves us.’ good words!

Comments are closed.

