surrender. (2 of 2)

13 Aug

in terms of our spiritual journey, we’re CALLED to surrender.  we’re called to growth, to maturity and movement.  in essence, we’re called to change.

yet we resist.

we resist not only because change is embarking upon the unknown, unfamiliar and uncomfortable, but because more often than not, change means giving up control.

and we like control.

when i can dictate the areas in which i’m growing and changing, i’m still in control.  i can develop a plan that fits into my life and schedule without disturbing my comfort level.  i can mature without looking like i’m frail and helpless.  i can grow and still keep my hypocrisy.  i can learn and still hold onto my intolerance, pride and judgment of others.

yet when we surrender… when we give up control and say with boldness and genuine humility, ‘God, do in me whatever you will,‘ that’s a different story.  he starts messing with the areas of our lives that we’ve ignored.  he starts doing things in our hearts and confronting areas that we’ve been too weak, too prideful or too scared to address.

and the results are beautiful.

the question is, are we at the point of surrender?  are we ready to give up and raise the white flag?  are we ready to be wrecked and overcome?

3 Responses to “surrender. (2 of 2)”

  1. Jim Fisher August 14, 2011 at 7:53 PM #

    My favorite itinerant Bible teacher taught me that the word we translate as “meek” in both Hebrew and Greek is an equestrian term. It means “tamed to the bridle”. It means “steerable”. The meek are still the strong, thunderous wild horses inside but have surrendered to a higher authority. We are no longer the mavericks we once were running for no purpose other than to feel the pleasure of the wind in our manes. We have a purpose and the bit in our mouth is the witness. The tug of the reigns on our cheeks is a welcome blessing for we know that One we have surrendered to knows more than we do about how we should be moving though this mess we call life.

  2. Sinai11 August 15, 2011 at 11:33 AM #

    Another problem with surrender is uncertainty. You said to pray “God, do in me whatever you will.” Which is a nice thought. And not to difficult to say. But I find it incredibly difficult to believe. Because you never know what God will do. It’s like praying, “God, if you must, take my loved ones away for yor glory. Paralyze me so I can completely lean on You. Take away my job so I know what it means to need my daily bread.” This prayer is something most people will never, ever mean. But this is the real surrender. Right now I cannot pray that prayer. But I can pray that God will give me the desire to pray it.
    Anyways, I think that is why praying for surrender is so foreign to us. Because we are not quite sure what God will do. Funny thing is, God is in control regardless.

  3. Jim Fisher August 17, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    Caroline Myss uses the term “detachment” rather than “surrender”. I like that.

    “Remember that detachment does not mean giving up your earthly belongings, as the mystics did when they entered their monasteries. Detachment means that you withdraw the authority that social status or money or an emotional wound has over you … You do not need to give them up, but you do need to see clearly why you cling to each of them with such passion.” [from Entering the Castle]

Comments are closed.

